; edinburgh

April 26, 2010

October 8th-11th, 2009

I told my mother years ago I’d find my husband in Scotland. Definitely not the case here. What did I find? Lots. I found one of my top five favorite cities in the world, Scotch Whisky without an “e”, the best clubbing experience I’ve ever had, my friend from high school, Meghan, who goes to school in St. Andrews, the green and blue plaid my school uniform was, and also lots of Canadians. Go figure.

The view from our hostel was this. Prime real estate for dirt cheap? Hell yes. I’ve been to a lot of cities and none of them look quite like this. Of course, we had to hike up massive hills and steps to old city for this, but it was worth it. My ass and legs looked great too. Thanks, Edinburgh.

Club: GHQ aka the Gay Headquarters. It. Was. Amazing. We got in for no charge at around 10:30, had some classy vodka and tonics and then the magic began. The haze above is from the killer smoke machine blazing  on the dance floor. And not only that, but we’d suddenly discover at various times throughout the night that they would be opening doors to more rooms, including a hallways with round black satin beds, another huge bar and dance floor and even a room with a hot tub? I did take a power nap on one of the beds for a few (don’t worry I was fine) to rejuvenate myself. Then I was back in action until we left at around 2:30 in the morning. The walk back was refreshing and amazing in the dead of night. Also? Of course the only shirt I had to wear to this place was patchwork flannel. I rocked the lesbian that night.

Part of the largest collection of Scotch Whisky in the world. Yes, I dragged everyone on a Whisky tour. I ended up being the only one who really liked it. Ordering a glass of Glenriddich (correct?) at a bar the first night, relishing in the tour and the tasting that came with, convincing the friends we should buy a bottle for the evening and settling on Scotch liquer because they weren’t exactly fans. I brought home a souvenir airplane sized bottle aged 20 years because I was fresh off a week of my birthday!

Our last morning we hiked up the mountain (hill) to the south of the city. I entirely forget the name. But it was gorgeous and I felt like it was a little escape to the Scottish hillside that I didn’t have time to experience. While I may have had a mini asthma attack and a subsequent panic attack which resulted in my calling my mother overseas, I like to remember it as green and lush and perfect just like this picture.

Purpletoned view of the city from the top of the mountain (hill). Something Prince’s Seat maybe? I’m too lazy to look it up. Bad blogging. Also, spot the castle in the way back on the left? Our hostel was right next to it. So cool, and so far! We walked a lot, especially this weekend. Anyway, there you have my best and favorite photos from Edinburgh. I honestly could live there.

Leave a Reply

